Week 1: Chives a.k.a. “Sibling Chive-alry”

For Week One, I chose chives. To be fair, I did this mostly because I I had some chives in the fridge and needed an excuse to use them up.

Chives are one of those herbs that are both easy to think of a use for (bacon, cheddar chive everything!) and hard to remember to use (are these scallions or what?). I love their flavor and the way that they can be powerful and delicate at the same time. A softer onion flavor with hints of garlic.

So in honor of the complexity of chives, Lara and I went in opposite directions. She went full body capers and I’ve leaned on it as an accent flavor. I suppose the lesson is that there’s no wrong way to use chives.

Lara’s recipe was a chive pesto from Bon Apetit tossed it with fettuccine, roasted veggies, and sautéed shrimp.  (picture above).

My recipe was a roasted radish dish with a mustard chive sauce.  (below)

20160524_211721

 

 

Leave a comment